VPP Advisory Board Members’ Statement on Election Results

Published: 11.8.20

On Saturday, November 7, the Voter Protection Program (VPP) released the following statement from members of the VPP’s Bipartisan Advisory Board on the 2020 Presidential Election:

“The American people have spoken—and in America, we respect that. The results are clear—Joe Biden will win both a majority of the electoral college and a majority of the popular vote.

Every legal vote is the voice of an American voter. The will of the American people must be upheld.

We congratulate the nation’s state and local officials on carefully administering a safe and secure election. They are the unsung heroes of our democracy. Now, we look forward to finalizing the process and a peaceful transition of power.

As former governors, state attorneys general, federal officials, and law enforcement leaders from all political perspectives, we urge our leaders to listen to the will of the people and denounce any attempt to undermine our democracy or throw out the votes of hard-working Americans.”

The statement was issued by the following members of the VPP’s Bipartisan Advisory Board:

  • Jennifer M. Granholm, Former Governor and Attorney General of Michigan
  • Tom Ridge, Former Governor of Pennsylvania and Secretary of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Bill Weld, Former U.S. Attorney for the District of Massachusetts, Assistant U.S. Attorney General, and Governor of Massachusetts
  • Christine Todd Whitman, Former Governor of New Jersey and Administrator of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • Jack Conway, Former Attorney General of Kentucky
  • Frankie Sue Del Papa, Former Attorney General of Nevada and Nevada Secretary of State
  • John J. Farmer, Jr., Former Assistant U.S. Attorney and Attorney General of New Jersey
  • Jim Hood, Former Attorney General of Mississippi
  • Jahna Lindemuth, Former Attorney General of Alaska
  • Patricia Madrid, Former Attorney General of New Mexico
  • Tom Rath, Former Attorney General of New Hampshire and Director of the Legal Services Corporation under President George W. Bush
  • Grant Woods, Former Attorney General of Arizona and Chief of Staff to U.S. Senator John McCain
  • Donald Ayer, Former Deputy Attorney General under President George H.W. Bush and Principal Deputy Solicitor General
  • Greg Brower, Former Assistant Director and Deputy General Counsel of the Federal Bureau of Investigation and U.S. Attorney for the District of Nevada
  • Peter J. Koutoujian, Current Sheriff of Middlesex County, Massachusetts and President of Major County Sheriffs of America
  • Sarah R. Saldaña, Former Director of U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement and U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Texas
  • Joyce Vance, Former U.S. Attorney for the Northern District of Alabama
  • Ken Wainstein, Former Homeland Security Advisor to President George W. Bush, U.S. Attorney in Washington DC, and General Counsel to the FBI